Analytic and Geometric Approaches to Machine Learning: An LMS and ICMS Symposium

Home > Workshops > 2021 > Analytic and Geometric Approaches to Machine Learning: An LMS and ICMS Symposium

Analytic and Geometric Approaches to Machine Learning: An LMS and ICMS Symposium

 26 - 30 Jul 2021
Register here


If you have any questions about this event please contact This email inbox is monitored Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.


The LMS and ICMS would like to invite you to participate in their upcoming Symposium: Analytic and Geometric Approaches to Machine Learning.
Machine learning has been remarkably successful in it’s applications (e.g. classification/clustering, regression, data mining and prediction) but our theoretical understanding of many machine learning algorithms is still missing. This has led to an increasing appetite for the mathematical analysis of machine learning algorithms. Particularly exciting is the potential for methods from applied mathematics, probability theory, and statistics to contribute to machine learning theory.
The aim of the workshop is to bring together researchers that apply mathematical methodology to machine learning. We particularly want to emphasise how mathematical theory can inform applications and vice versa.

This virtual workshop is the first of two workshops on this topic. The second will be an in-person workshop to be held at the University of Bath, in December 2021. In this first workshop, invited speakers are encouraged to present open problems and explore interesting directions for potential research as part of their talk. The schedule allows participants time to initiate conversations and collaborations that can be developed at the winter workshop.

Confirmed speakers:

Andres Almansa, Paris Descartes
Coloma Ballester, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Andrea Bertozzi, University of California, Los Angeles
Christoph Brune, Universiteit Twente
Jeff Calder, University of Minnesota
Daniel Cremers, Technische Universität München
Matthias Ehrhardt, University of Bath
Abderrahim Elmoataz, Université de Caen Normandie
Cristina Garcia-Cardona, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Yury Korolev, University of Cambridge
Jonas Latz, University of Cambridge
Youssef Marzouk, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Pablo Muse, Universidad de la República de Uruguay
Omiros Papaspiliopoulos, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Mathew Penrose, University of Bath
Philipp Petersen, University of Vienna
Johannes Schmidt-Hieber, Universiteit Twente
Bernhard Schmitzer, University of Göttingen
Yves van Gennip, TU Delft
Kostas Zygalakis, University of Edinburgh