V-KEMS is Knowledge Exchange Team of the Year 2021

Home > News > V-KEMS is Knowledge Exchange Team of the Year 2021

V-KEMS is Knowledge Exchange Team of the Year 2021

24 Nov 2021

The Virtual Forum for Knowledge Exchange in Mathematical Sciences [V-KEMS] initiative has been awarded the prestigious “KE Team of the Year” at the annual PraxisAuril KE Awards 2021. PraxisAuril is the UK’s professional association for Knowledge Exchange practitioners, with its range of annual awards representing the highest accolade of industry recognition within the sector. 

The award to V-KEMS was presented at a virtual awards ceremony last Thursday by Simon Bond (Innovation Director, SETsquared Partnership).  The awards were sponsored by UKRI, the UK’s research and innovation funding body.

V-KEMS is a partnership among the International Centre for Mathematical Sciences, the Isaac Newton Institute, Knowledge Transfer Network [KTN], Newton Gateway, and members of the mathematical sciences community.  Founded in March 2020 to “identify a range of virtual approaches that will help address challenges from business and industry, the third sector, and other groups outside academia”, there has been significant focus on challenges specific to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and post COVID-19 recovery.

It is terrific for the team to be recognised in this way.  V-KEMS has delivered so much in a short space of time and highlights what can be achieved when like-minded organisation and individuals work together.  We look forward to working together with the mathematical sciences community to tackle new challenges and opportunities in the coming months and beyond” - Dawn Wasley, ICMS lead for V-KEMS

The project has benefited from a plethora of stakeholders who have supported the activity, providing invaluable insight and input, as well as a host of creative and enthusiastic mathematical sciences and cross-discipline problem solvers and speakers who have engaged throughout. In addition to the partner institutions, we acknowledge and thank our fabulous V-KEMS team and forum members, Chris Budd (Bath), Alan Champneys (Bristol), Rebecca Hoyle (Southampton) Jo  Jordan (Independent) who have worked tirelessly in support of this initiative. 

In response to the announcement ICMS Director Minhyong Kim said “It is vital for mathematics of our times to throw itself out into the world and engage with a wide range of problems and people. It's wonderful that the ICMS and its partner institutions have such a skilled and committed team of individuals pursuing this important mission with a devotion that goes far beyond normal expectations. Congratulations on the well-deserved award!

You can find out more on the V-KEMS website, which has details of all the activities that have taken place.


Visit the PraxisAuril website for a full list of categories and winners.