Management Structure

Home > About > Management Structure

Management Structure

The Management Committee has overall responsibility for the management of all funds and resources, for the appointment and regulation of staff and for the determination of strategy. 

The ICMS Board consists of representatives appointed by the parent universities, nominations by the Council for Mathematical Sciences and members with a broad range of interests in the mathematical sciences. These positions are appointed after an open advertising process. The ICMS Board is chaired by Maria Esteban. The Board oversees all activities and advises the Management Committee.

The Programme Committee has responsibility for assessing all workshop proposals, evaluating past programmes and advising the Director on areas of mathematical sciences in which workshops might be encouraged. The Programme Committee is chaired by Maria Schonbek.

The Nominating Committee reviews applications to join ICMS committees and makes recommendations to the Management Committee who take the final decision. To date the nominating committee have worked on new appointments to the ICMS Board and the Programme Committee. 

The Knowledge Exchange Subcommittee has responsibility for assessing all Knowledge Exchange proposals and advising the Knowledge Exchange Manager.

ICMS is jointly owned by the University of Edinburgh and Heriot-Watt University.

View the ICMS staff

Management Committee




Minhyong Kim ICMS  Chair
Beatrice Pelloni Heriot-Watt University Deputy Chair

Jacques Vanneste

University of Edinburgh Deputy Chair

Des Higham

University of Edinburgh  
Carmen Boado Heriot-Watt University


Sara Lombardo Heriot-Watt University  

Bernd Schroers

University of Edinburgh


Jane Walker


Centre Manager, ICMS


ICMS Board




Maria J. Esteban

CNRS & Université Paris-Dauphine


Sophie Carr Bays Consulting IMA
Eva-Maria Feichtner University of Bremen  
Mark Girolami University of Cambridge  
Susan Hezlet    
Joanna Jordan    
Julian Jones Heriot-Watt University  
Guy Nason Imperial College London  
Anne Payne University of Edinburgh  
Sarah Rees University of Newcastle LMS
Marianne Rolph EPSRC ex-officio  
Marian Scott University of Glasgow CMS 

John Taylor

Bank of England  


Programme Committee




Giovanni Felder ETH Zürich Chair

John Ball FRS

University of Oxford/Heriot-Watt University


Mark Chaplain

University of St Andrews


Peter Clarkson University of Kent  

Cornelia Drutu

University of Oxford


Julia Gog

University of Cambridge


Jelena Grbic University of Southampton  
Minhyong Kim ICMS Director, ICMS
James Lucietti University of Edinburgh  

Malwina Luczak

University of Manchester


Apala Majumdar

University of Strathclyde


Francesco Mezzadri University of Bristol HIMR 

Paul Milewski

University of Bath


Gregory Sankaran University of Bath  
Adam Skalski Polish Academy of Sciences  
Ulrike Tillmann Isaac Newton Institute ex-officio  
Stephen Wilson University of Strathclyde  


Nominating Committee

Helen Wilson

University College London


Sophie Carr

Bays Consulting


Minhyong Kim

Director, ICMS  


Jane Walker



Katrin Wendland

Trinity College Dublin 



Knowledge Exchange Subcommittee

Lauren Hyndman

ICMS KE Manager


Des Higham

ICMS KE Academic, University of Edinburgh


Joanna Jordan

Freelance consultant


Minhyong Kim 

ICMS Director


Beatrice Pelloni

ICMS Deputy Director