One World Virtual Seminar Series - Nonlinear Waves and their Applications

This is the webpage for the One World Nonlinear Waves and their Applications Seminar Series

These seminars take place weekly at 15:00 (GMT)

To sign up for this seminar series, please complete this form.

The registration form will shut 30mins before the seminar starts.

The call details will be sent out 30mins before the start of the seminar

 

These seminars are recorded. All recordings can be found here.

 

Next Seminar

Wednesday 25 November - 3-4pm (GMT)

Emilian Parau - TBA

 

Future Seminars

Wednesday 2 December - 3-4pm (GMT)

TBA

 

Wednesday 9 December - 3-4pm (GMT)

TBA

 

Previous Seminars

Wednesday 22 April

David Lannes

Title: The Boussinesq equations with a freely floating object

Katie Olivera

Title: Conservation Laws for Water Waves

 

Wednesday 29 April

John Carter

Title: Comparisons between bidirectional Whitham systems and experimental measurements

Thibault Congy

Title: Bidirectional soliton gas

 

Wednesday 6 May

Onno Bokhove

Title: Coupling dispersive water waves to shallow-water bores on a beach

Davide Proment

Title: Sound emission and irreversible dynamics during vortex reconnections in quantum fluids

 

Wednesday 13 May

Miguel Onorato

Title: Thermalization and conduction in a one dimensional lattice

Olga Tritchtenko

Title: Stability of Solutions to Hamiltonian PDEs via Polynomials

 

Wednesday 20 May

Erik Wahlen

Title: Large-amplitude solitary waves for the Whitham equation

Valerio Lucarini

Title: A New Mathematical Framework for Atmospheric Blocking Events

 

Wednesday 27 May

David Andrande

Title: New solutions of the C.S.Y. equation reveal increases in freak-wave occurrence

Jean-Marc Vanden-Broeck

Title: Limiting configurations of steep nonlinear water waves

 

Wednesday 3 June

Dan Hill

Title: 'Mountains out of Magnets' - Existence of Localised Radial Peaks on the Surface of a Ferrofluid

Dan Ratliff

Title: Entirely Out of Character? Dispersive Dynamics in Moving Frames

 

Wednesday 10 June

Rafael Granero-Belinchón

Title: Water waves with viscosity

Amir Sagiv

Title: Reversibility loss and phase loss in nonlinear optics

 

Wednesday 17 June

Andre Nachbin

Title: Wave-mediated Kuramoto-like synchronization with bouncing droplets

Firas Dhaouadi

Title: A hyperbolic augmented model for The Nonlinear Schrödinger equation

 

Wednesday 1 July

Mozhgan (Nora) Entekhabi

Title: Inverse Source Scattering Problems with Multi- Frequencies

 

Wednesday 8 July

Wesley Perkins

Title: Uniform Stability to Subharmonic Pertubations

 

Wednesday 15 July,

Bruno Vergara

Title: Uniqueness and convexity of Whitham’s highest cusped wave.

 

Wednesday 7 October

Miles Wheeler

Title: Nonexistence of subcritical solitary waves

 

Wednesday 14 October

Bard Ermentrout

Title: Nonlocal Phase Waves

 

Wednesday 21 October

Mark Groves

Title: Fully localised three-dimensional gravity-capillary solitary waves on water of infinite depth.

 

Wednesday 28 October

Ricardo Lopes-Barros

Title: Strongly nonlinear effects on internal solitary waves in a three-layer fluid

Please find the lecture slides here.

 

Wednesday 4 November

Gennady El (Northumbria University )

Title: Modulational instability and nonlinear spectral theory of soliton gas

 

Here is a list of other One World Seminars

 

Zoom is the online platform being used to deliver this seminar series. Any questions relating to the seminar, please contact ollie.quinn@icms.org.uk

This seminar series is supported as part of the ICMS Online Mathematical Sciences Seminars.