Entrance hall of the ICMS Workshop

Computational Optimization in Action

Jun 17, 2016

ICMS, 15 South College Street, Edinburgh, EH8 9AA.

Solving convex optimization problems, whether generated directly or as sub-problems when solving non-convex problems, is the principal requirement in computational optimization. Ever-increasing problem size, particularly as a result of the growing importance and scale of data analysis, is driving the development of novel techniques for solving convex optimization problems using high performance computing systems. This workshop will consist of several presentations by leading researchers, with the aim of promoting an exchange of ideas to advance the state of the art in this area.

Please refer to the workshop website for further details.



The workshop will take place on the afternoon of Friday 17 June at ICMS, 15 South College Street, Edinburgh. Details of how to find ICMS can be found here. 

Please register for the workshop via the public application form.   There is no automatic acknowledgement, but once your application has been processed your name will appear on the workshop website.  

Tea and coffee and lunch will be provided. Please indicate on the registration form if you have any special dietary requirements.


Name Institution
Akartunali, Kerem University of Strathclyde
Al-Remal, Ahmad Mejbas University of Edinburgh
Anjos, Miguel Polytechnique Montreal
Attila, Oyku Naz University of Strathclyde
Benedek, Marton University of Southampton
Benevento, Alessia University of Salento
Caliciotti, Andrea University of Rome "La Sapienza"
Cañavate Sánchez, Maria Jesus Heriot-Watt University
Chen, Binhui University of Nottingham
Chenyang, Wu Imperial College London
Chhabra, Puneet Heriot-Watt University
Cogalan, Tezcan University of Edinburgh
Curcio, Eduardo University of Porto
D'Autilia, Maria Chiara University of Salento
Davari, Soheil Hertfordshire Business School
Dehghani Soltani, Mohammad IDCOM
Elhüseyni, Murat Bogazici University
Eyoh, Imo University of Nottingham
Ferris, Michael University of Wisconsin-Madison
Galabova, Ivet University of Edinburgh
Garcia Quiles, Sergio University of Edinburgh
Ghoreishi, Maryam Aarhus University
Gondzio, Jacek University of Edinburgh
Guerneve, Thomas Heriot-Watt University
Gumus, Betul University of Nottingham
Gunda, Jagadeesh University of Edinburgh
Hall, Julian University of Edinburgh
Herrera, Juan F. R. EPCC, University of Edinburgh
Hesamzadeh, Mohammad Reza KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Huang, Yuanhua University of Edinburgh
Islim, Mohamed Sufyan LiFi R&D centre
Kalcsics, Jörg University of Edinburgh
Karam, Ahmed Heriot-Watt University
Ketpan, Watcharapong Heriot-Watt University
Krikke, Teun Heriot-Watt University
Kumar, Anand Indian Institute of Technology Mandi
Li, Wenwen University of Nottingham
Lopez-Guevara, Tatiana Heriot-Watt University
maccarrone, ludovica DIAG Sapienza
Mei, Zhaoxun Heriot-Watt University
Meimaris, Antonios University of Liverpool
Michal, Kocvara University of Birmingham
Moreira da Silva, Alexandre Imperial College London
Muszynski, Michal University of Geneva
Olivares-Nadal, Alba University of Seville
Ouypornkochagorn, Taweechai Institute for Digital Communications
Peng, Shi University of Nottingham
Pereira Coutinho, Walton University of Southampton
Perelli, Alessandro University of Edinburgh
Peron, Martin QUT
Pham, Van Hoan Can Tho University
Pires de Araujo, Luiz Jonata University of Nottingham
Raeesi, Ramin Lancaster University
Rahmat, Roushanak Heriot-Watt University
Ralph, Daniel University of Cambridge
Rossi, Roberto University of Edinburgh
Schork, Lukas University of Edinburgh
Schwinn, Jonas University of Augsburg
Singh, Keshav University of Edinburgh
Smith, Allister Ross Fife College
Stone, Christopher Edinburgh Napier University
Tan, Shuren University of Edinburgh
Tang, Junqi IDCOM
Tyasnurita, Raras University of Nottingham
van der Weijde, Harry University of Edinburgh
Vargas, Elizabeth Heriot-Watt University
Viola, Marco Sapienza University of Rome
Vu, Anh Lancaster University
Xiang, Mengyuan University of Edinburgh
yong, bao Institute of Digital Communication
Zaharudin, Zati Aqmar University of Sheffield
Zeinalighayeshghoorshagh, Mehdi IDCOM