Mathematical design of new materials: strategies and algorithms for the design of alloys and metamaterials

11-15 March 2019

ICMS, The Bayes Centre, 47 Potterrow, Edinburgh EH8 9BT




Scientific Organisers

  • John Ball, Heriot-Watt University
  • Kaushik Bhattacharya, Caltech
  • Xian Chen, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  • Richard James, University of Minnesota

Many recent and spectacular advances in the world of materials are related to complex materials having extraordinary and unique features, usually determined by their specific microstructure. Such materials are key to much technology appearing in our daily lives: they are in liquid crystal displays, in miniaturised phones, special steels in cars, plastics and composites in the construction of modern airplanes, in biological implants in human bodies, and so on.

However, despite the impressive technological applications of these materials, the theoretical understanding and modelling of them are still inadequate. The need for models and basic understanding is not just of theoretical interest, but indeed a  key requirement for being able to access and further develop the true potential of these materials, to optimise them, to combine them into new materials, and to use them for creating new devices, with predefined abilities and behaviours.

This workshop will bring together mathematicians and scientists working in various areas of materials science and applied mathematics in order to initiate a systematic study of the optimal design of new complex materials

This is a satelite workshop of the The mathematical design of new materials programme at the Isaac Newton Institute. The workshop will begin at lunchtime on Monday 11 March and close at lunchtime on Friday 15 March. The workshop will include an afternoon mini-symposium on Machine learning and atomistic simulations organised by Graeme Ackland, University of Edinburgh with the generous support of the ERC (HECATE).

Invited speakers include:
Graeme Ackland, University of Edinburgh
Virginia Agostiniani, Università di Verona
David Bourne, Heriot-Watt University
Eric Cancès, Ecole des Ponts ParisTech
Gabor Csányi, University of Cambridge
Francesco Della Porta, Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences, Leipzig
Adriana Garroni, Sapienza Università di Roma
Sandrine Heutz, Imperial College London
Tom Hudson, University of Warwick
Tomonari Inamura, Tokyo Institute of Technology
Raz Kupferman, Hebrew University, Jerusalem
Paul Plucinsky, University of Minnesota
Eckhard Quandt, Kiel University
Angkana Rüland, Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences, Leipzig
Lucia Scardia, Heriot-Watt University
Hanuš Seiner, Czech Academy of Sciences
Yang Xiang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Giovanni Zanzotto, Università di Padova


Invited speakers and participants will receive an invitation email from the ICMS during the week of 14 January 2019.

There are a very limited number of financially supported places place available for additional particpants, if you would like to apply to attend the workshop, whether or not your would like financial support, please complete this application form. You will be informed if your application has been successful by Tuesday 12 February.